NEW AI Baking Expert — your perfect recipe, guided by AI

Gluten Free Halloween Candy List

Share:

candy corn
While not all candy corn varieties are gluten-free, there are many safe brand options out there. Read those labels!

 Safe Gluten Free Halloween Candy List + Other Food Allergen-Free Candy List (Updated 2026) + Tips for Gluten Free Candy Shopping

Gluten Free Halloween Candy can be tricky to identify. If you haven’t procured your gluten free goodies yet, read on, because at first glance, you might think most candy is gluten free, but not so fast! 

Many candies actually use gluten as filler or to give substance to extruded shapes. Sorry, no Twizzlers for you!

(If you’d like to make your own homemade gluten free and vegan candy, it’s not difficult, and it’s actually pretty fun! Check out my homemade vegan Almond Joy recipe to get you started!)

gluten free almond joy top banner | gfJules
Homemade gluten free & vegan Almond Joy candy bars! Click for recipe.

Which Candy Contains Gluten?

  • Twizzlers® and nearly all other licorice, for example, contain gluten (enriched wheat flour is the second listed ingredient!). 

Twizzlers Licorice contains gluten

 

  • Malted milkballs and candy bars containing rice crisps (Nestle Crunch® — rice crisps are flavored with barley malt), ready-made rice crispy treats, and those with cookies inside (like Twix®) also contain gluten. Even Mars Bars contain malt. 

what chocolate bars are not gluten free

  • Rice Krispies cereal and therefore Rice Krispies Treats are NOT gluten free. They contain MALT FLAVORING which is made from barley which contains gluten. So avoid those treats, as well.

Rice Krispies Treats are NOT Gluten Free

 

Instead, make your own homemade crispy rice treats that ARE gluten free (and so much cuter, by the way!!).

Here’s my recipe — it’s so easy and so fun!

gluten free pumpkin rice crispy treats CU | gfJules

Aren’t those the cutest?!? Of course you can just make them in a tray the old fashioned way.

But whatever you do, make them with gluten free rice crispy cereal instead.

The Best Gluten Free Halloween Candy List | gfJules

Candy Corn and Gummy Candy May Not Be Gluten Free

Some candy corn and gummy candies contain wheat. Haribo® Gummy Bears now may contain wheat or corn from dextrose — you never know which, so it’s best to avoid, especially since there are other choices. This is from their FAQs (this information has since been removed from their page): 

Unfortunately, because we use ingredients containing wheat in some HARIBO products, we cannot rule out entirely the possibility that our products or the ingredients used to produce them have come into contact with products containing gluten. Our products may therefore contain traces of gluten. Please always consult the ingredients list on the product packaging. Allergens that are subject to allergen labelling guidelines appear in bold in the ingredients list.

Haribo Gummy Bears May Contain Wheat

 

Are M&M’s Gluten Free?

Most M&Ms® are considered gluten free in the U.S., even though they are not labeled on packages as being gluten free. The majority of M&Ms flavors do not contain any gluten ingredients, and the manufacturer urges consumers to read each package label for ingredients to determine whether or not that M&Ms variety is made with gluten or gluten-free ingredients.

There are some flavors which DO CONTAIN GLUTEN. One newish variety called M&Ms Crispy looks like a regular M&M but has a crispy center that contains BARLEY MALT *(aka gluten); M&Ms pretzel also contains gluten.

crispy m&ms

Although the ingredient label lists “barley malt,” it only says “may contain” wheat. Gluten Free Food Labeling regulations do NOT require that an ingredient label call out the presence of gluten, in this case, from barley.While most other M&Ms are made with gluten free ingredients, Mars-Wrigley does not label any of its candies as gluten free because they may be made in a facility which contains gluten. 

Bottom Line: Always read those labels! And read them on the exact package you’re considering purchasing, as ingredients change and may differ depending on the shape and size of the candy.

Are Reese’s Gluten Free?*

YAY! Reese’s® are labeled Gluten-Free! BOO! Not all Reese’s are labeled gluten-free though. Always check the packaging, but the general rule with Reese’s is that the seasonal shapes are NOT gluten-free.

Note that while Reeses Pieces are labeled gluten free, some seasonal and smaller shapes of traditionally gluten free candies like Reeses® Peanut Butter Cups, are not included on their gluten free list, so double check before shopping or indulging (always check the package itself).

Reeses Regular cups are labeled gluten free, seasonal are not

 

*The Hershey’s website does not indicate that seasonal Reese’s shapes are gluten-free, nor does the packaging say gluten-free, however, some company representatives have explained that allergen controls are in place to prevent cross-contact for those items, as some are run on the same equipment as other gluten-containing confections. This is not on the packaging or the website. 

It is up to you to decide if you would like to enjoy the seasonal shaped Reese’s with this caveat or stick to the regular shapes with the gluten-free claim.

 

Gluten Free and Allergen-Friendly Candy and More

Don’t Trust Gluten Free Candy Displays

One more thing … there’s another tricky issue when it comes to finding safe candy is the displays in each store. This one looks particularly inviting, doesn’t it?

halloween candy display|gfJules

But look again.

Not all the candies in this display are gluten-free. And while other customers may have caused this kerfuffle, you can never rely on displays to do the label reading for you.

halloween candy display with gluten candy |gfJules

Aside from the fact that these treats are definitely NOT peanut free, KitKat and Twizzlers are also definitely NOT gluten free.

What Halloween Candies are Gluten Free?

Run-of-the-mill chocolate should be gluten free, but if it’s contaminated in the plant, then of course, it’s not.

Some companies have made it easier on us than others: Hershey’s®, for example, has published a thorough gluten free products list – check it out! They explicitly recommend that customers read the packaging for the most accurate allergen and gluten information.

Here’s an example of the kind of listing you’ll find there:

Reese’s Gluten Free Candies

  • Reese’s Fast Break Bar
  • Reese’s Nutrageous Bar
  • Reese’s with Pretzels
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, Minis & Big Cups– All Except Seasonal Shaped Items*
  • Reese’s Unwrapped Mini Minis – Milk Chocolate and White
  • Reese’s Pieces Candy – All Except Reese’s Pieces Eggs* (starting in the fall 2025, now dairy-free!)
  • Reese’s Pretzels Big Cup
  • Reese’s Peanut Brittle 
  • Reeses’s White Cream Miniatures
  • Reese’s Mallow Top

The Reese’s Franken-Cups and even the Reese’s with Pretzels are now marked Gluten-Free! (the only allergens are milk, peanuts, and soy) So you have plenty of choices without having to risk the ones that are potentially contaminated. (ALWAYS read package labels for up-to-date gluten free claims, though!)

Reeses with pretzels gluten free

If the Reese’s are in Halloween shapes, Hershey’s says they may be cross-contaminated with gluten.* Do not risk it — there are plenty of fun Reese’s which ARE gluten-free and are labeled gluten-free on the package. 

Other Gluten Free Gluten Free Halloween Candies

Most candy companies are now putting their allergen information on their websites, you just have to look for it.  Of course, the best gluten free Halloween candy shopping experience comes when these companies go to the trouble of telling you right on the package that their products are gluten free. 

Most Peeps are Gluten Free

That’s one reason why Marshmallow Peeps® always fill my candy bowl.

Peeps Cats

As candies go, you can’t beat the fact that now emblazoned across the front of Peep packages everywhere is the declaration: “Always Gluten Free”!

And if you’re looking to avoid food dyes in candy, choose the white Peeps Ghosts — dye-free!

Note that Peeps do declare “May contain MILK” on their packaging, and some varieties DO contain milk.

All Tootsie Candies are Gluten Free 

All candy made by the TOOTSIE company is made in a gluten-free facility. “At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.” Which means that these super fun DOTS are considered gluten-free, as well!

gluten-free Dots

Which Jelly Candies are Gluten Free? Which Candy Corn is Gluten Free?

Jelly Belly® boasts that “All flavors of Jelly Belly beans are free of gluten. We do not use any wheat, rye, barley, or oats in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans. The modified food starch listed on the package is cornstarch.”

And now, the company has embraced Halloween with their fun packs made just for the occasion! They also make gluten free candy corn. “All Jelly Belly Candy Corn are OU Kosher, gluten free, peanut free, dairy free, fat free, and vegetarian friendly.” NOT ALL CANDY CORN IS GLUTEN FREE, so it’s great that Jelly Belly offers gluten free Candy Corn, especially when it also meets so many other dietary needs, as well! Brach’s Candy Corn is also gluten-free.

Jelly Belly Candy Corn

All kinds of gummy candy can be found in Halloween shapes and packaging, but make sure the ingredients are safe before assuming they’re all gluten free. 

Black Forest Gluten Free Gummy Worms

Black Forest food dye-free gluten-free Gummy Worms are a fun find for all kinds of fun Halloween baking and munching! 

Even easy-to-find brands like Welch’s has started packing its fruit snacks in Halloween packs for easy trick-or-treating.

While they still contain corn syrup and sugar, the first ingredient is lots of real fruit, and they are fat free (ahem … for moms who might want to steal a bag once in awhile!). You can grab a multi-pack for trick-or-treaters here!

gluten free welch's

 

Don’t forget about Skittles and Starburst! These are always kid pleasers that just so happen to be gluten free, and you can usually find good deals on multi-packs for trick-or-treaters. Starburst now even offers a plant-based option! 

YumEarth Gummifruits in Halloween packaging are also currently available on Amazon. 

This variety pack is a great find!

Yum Earth

DumDums lollipops are also gluten free and those that are packed by the Spangler Candy Company are free of the Top 8 Food Allergens, but they are made with corn syrup and artificial dyes. Be sure to check their website and packaging for updated allergen information.

For most products, the best place to check is their actual packaging. What’s in your hand is the best place to find information about what’s inside, or what’s not inside.

Gluten -Free & Allergen-Friendly Halloween Treats

Which Chocolate Halloween Candy is Gluten Free? Which is also Dairy-Free?

As I mentioned above, Hershey has a robust gluten-free listing on their site, which includes the standard chocolate bar lineup, Hersheys’ Kisses, Mounds and more.

Three Musketeers and Snickers do not contain gluten ingredients.

York Peppermint Patties (standard shapes) are gluten free as well.

Free2B® offers organic, dairy-free dark chocolate sunbutter cups sold in 10-packs and mini bags that are perfect for Halloween night!Free2B Halloween Candy

And Unreal® makes a plethora of pretty delicious vegan and dye-free chocolate mocks of your favorites like chocolate-peanut butter cups, chocolate-almond butter cups, candy covered peanut chocolate gems (like M&Ms), coconut-chocolate bars (like Mounds Bars) and more.

UNREAL Halloween candy

 

All fair trade, non-GMO, and no artificial colors or flavors. Many of their candies are now certified gluten free from GFCO and the dark chocolate varieties are vegan. Three cheers for that!

NoWhey Foods makes Chocononos™ that are also like a vegan M&M! All natural, and made with milk free, nut free, gluten free, wheat free, soy free chocolate. They also make vegan peanut butter cups and Halloween figurines (and Easter chocolates, too! so you may want to bookmark their page).

Their Pea-NOT Reaper Candies are new — pretty spooky! All gluten-free, dairy-free, peanut-free … check out their full free-from allergen list. It’s pretty impressive!

no whey halloween

 

Lots to choose from in fun seasonal packaging.

Made Good is another brand to look for in the a little less bad for you department, but they have some gluten-free packaging that is fun and you can count on them for gluten-free and even purity protocol oats!

Made Good

 

What are UN-Sweet Gluten and Allergen-Friendly Halloween Treats?

Sometimes a girl, or a kid, needs a few un-sweet treats. AmIright?

Think about your favorite salty snacks and I bet there are some that are packaged in super cute snack packs for the holiday. Potato chips, popcorn, you get the idea.


halloween chips

So zig when they zag and go salty this Halloween. Snack packs are great ideas!

Popcorn packed in snack sizes with Halloween packaging is a popular offering this time of year. Brands like Angie’s BoomChicaPop Kettle Corn Snack Packs and Lesser Evil are pretty easy to find (and certified gluten free!).

lesser evil halloween popcorn

 

Or try gluten-free Popcorn Balls or … even gluten free and vegan chickpea snacks from Hippeas!

hippeas

What’s the Teal Pumpkin Project?

FARE (Food Allergy Research Education) sponsors the #TealPumpkinProject each Halloween to promote safe trick-or-treating stops for food allergy kids. When these food allergy families see a teal pumpkin, they know the loot they’ll rake in won’t make them sick so parents can relax, knowing their little ghouls will be safe at that house.

And speaking of Teal Pumpkins …

teal pumpkin
Our hand-painted teal pumpkin. We named him Tommy!

If you’d rather go the food-free, allergy-friendly route this holiday, go for it! You’ll have the support of thousands, and you should be sure to paint a pumpkin teal for your front porch!

The-Teal-Pumpkin-Project-5

 

The bottom line is that there are plenty of gluten free Halloween candy choices to make your Halloween tasty, sticky and fun without being scared about whether they contain ingredients that would make your night go sour.

Teal Pumpkin Ideas

Even More Gluten Free Candy List Resources

To make the task of finding the right treats for your family easy-breezy, check out these additional resources and their Gluten Free Candy Lists:

Print a list, hit the stores, and enjoy the spirit of the holiday! Grab that York Peppermint Patty, Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup, Marshmallow Peep, Hershey’s Pumpkin Spice Kiss … or whatever suits your fancy.  Happy Haunting!

A couple other fun ideas for you this Halloween: homemade Candy Apples or Gluten Free Gingerbread Houses!!! So fun, right??

Gluten Free Halloween Gingerbread House | gfJules
Click for the recipe and full how-to to make your own!!!

I hope you found this list helpful! Remember to Pin it for later!

If you are looking for safe gluten free Halloween candy options, you need to check out this list by gfJules.

A gluten free halloween candy list is vital to keep your family safe. See Jules' compiled and updated info on this year's SAFE GF and allergen free treats.
Gluten Free Candy List | gfJules
Twizzlers Licorice contains gluten
The Best Gluten Free Halloween Candy

Related Blog

Gluten-Free Baking Tips for High Altitude
blog

High Altitude Gluten Free Baking Tips

I get lots of questions from folks asking how to adjust gluten-free recipes for high altitude and my first answer is that you might not have to make an adjustment at all. Read on for tips to follow when gluten-free recipes need a little high altitude help!

Share:

(4 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

Leave a Comment

The maximum upload file size: 8 MB. You can upload: image. Links to YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and other services inserted in the comment text will be automatically embedded. Drop file here

  1. 5 stars
    This list is a lifesaver every October — label reading has saved me more than once, especially with seasonal Reese’s shapes, which always confuse people. One tip I’d add: candy labeled “may contain wheat” is worth skipping for highly sensitive celiacs, even when the ingredients look clean, since facility cross-contact is real. We also double-check the exact package before buying because manufacturers quietly change formulations. The reminder about Twizzlers being wheat-flour based is something I wish every new gluten-free family knew. Thanks for keeping this updated each year — it’s become my go-to reference before Halloween shopping.

    Reply
  2. 5 stars
    Thank you for the updated GF candy list. You are just the best! I buy only your flour and products, they are so good.
    I am a very sensitive celiac girl of 82. I love your recipes and products and I most especially love GF candy corn.

    Reply
    • I’m so happy to hear that my lists are helpful, Joanna! I take care to do lots of research, so it’s good to know when the lists are put to good use. 🙂 Happy Halloween!
      ~jules

      Reply
  3. FYI-The Unreal “M&Ms” has a warning that says it may contain wheat. And unlike their other products, there’s no gluten free claim on the package. Trying to save others from making my mistake and wasting money. Go with the Choco NoNos instead!

    Reply
    • Yes, always check the packaging! When I spoke to the UnReal folks at Natural Products Expo in September, they confirmed that they’re in the process of changing the facility where those are produced, but the packaging is always the best way to know what you have in your hands.
      ~jules

      Reply
  4. When we discovered Yum Earth’s licorice, black and strawberry, I thought we would want for nothing else and then came October, we will be teal this Halloween, all ready stocking up on Ann’s fruit snacks, hope they make it til the 31rst

    Reply
    • Hi Shirley, I added DumDums with the caveat that their website indicates only the products packed by Spangler Candy Company are free of the Top 8 Food Allergens. As with other manufacturers, the packaging is the best way to know what they’re declaring about the product inside, so if your package indicates Top 8 Free, that should be accurate. One note: gluten is NOT one of the Top 8 Food Allergens; wheat IS, but barley and rye are not included in that mandatory declaration although they also contain gluten. Barley is the one to watch out for in candies, as malt flavoring is frequently used. Happy Halloween!
      ~jules

      Reply
  5. Jules: Thanks and thanks again for this list, and for keeping it updated. I’m sending a link to this great article to everyone who buys candy, because they should know what to look for!

    Reply

Featured In